ILGA » World » INVITATION - Civil society consultation on the UNDP-led LGBTI Inclusion Index

News

Filter by Show me news ›

INVITATION – Civil society consultation on the UNDP-led LGBTI Inclusion Index

Join a series of webinars and engage in a civil society consultation on the UNDP-led LGBTI Inclusion Index

Profile photo of Daniele Paletta

6th September 2017 11:11

Daniele Paletta | World

LGBTI_inclusion_index_en_OK

INVITATION

Two- part civil society consultation
on the UNDP-led LGBTI Inclusion Index

hosted by ILGA, OutRight and RFSL

Following on from a process started in 2015, three LGBTI organisations working within UN lead processes were asked by the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the World Bank to facilitate communications with LGBTI civil society regarding the LGBTI Inclusion Index (Index). The development of the Index is continuing now till end of 2017.

Part 1

On 19 September 2017, you are invited to a one-hour introductory Webinar on the UNDP-led LGBTI Inclusion Index.  This Webinar will introduce the Index and outline opportunities to get involved in the consultation process to develop and refine indicators in five dimensions of LGBTI life: health, education, political & civic participation, economic well-being, and personal security & violence.

Please use the Google Chrome browser to log into the two platforms below. You can also download Google Chrome at https://www.google.com/chrome/.

Log into this secure webpage https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/179484429 at 1pm (GMT) on 19th September for Webinar in English.

Location Local Time Time Zone 
Sydney (Australia) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 22:00:00 AEST
Bangkok (Thailand) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 19:00:00 ICT
Stockholm (Sweden) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 14:00:00 CEST
London (United Kingdom) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 13:00:00 BST
Salvador (Brazil – Bahia) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 09:00:00 BRT
New York (USA) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 08:00:00 EDT
Mexico City (Mexico) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 07:00:00 CDT
Los Angeles (USA) Tuesday 19 September 2017, 05:00:00 PDT

 

The Webinar will be conducted in English with simultaneous interpretation into French and Spanish. For for simultaneous interpretation, open this second tab https://interprefy.interpret.world/user/sign-in (instructions for log-on are provided at the end of this invitation). The Access Token for this event is: inclusion01.

Once we  have discussed the evolution of the Index and the current process of developing indicators, we will be inviting participants to sign up to one or more 90-minute Webinar discussions that will be held in the first week of October 2017 – between the 2-6 October (you can sign up to those now at indicators@rfsl.se).

Specifically, at the October Webinars, the opportunity will be provided to review and comment on a set of proposed indicators (which will be sent to those who sign up prior to the five Webinar dates). Each Webinar will be conducted in English, with simultaneous translation in French and Spanish (online, with no software or downloads required). Each Webinar will have interactive time to discuss and refine the proposed indicators. We will send full details closer to the date.

It is not necessary to attend the Webinar on September 19th to participate in the October Webinars (note; the September 19 Webinar content is supplied below in English), but it is necessary to connect with us in advance to participate in any of the five Webinars, in English. Send your email address to indicators@rfsl.se, and we will be back in contact.

Part 2

On 2-6 October 2017

Webinar focus groups (for specific times, see below):

  • Monday 2nd                – Health
  • Tuesday 3rd               – Education
  • Wednesday 4th          – Political and civic participation
  • Thursday 5th               – Economic well-being
  • Friday 6th                    – Personal security and violence

Times:

The Health Webinar on October 2nd will be held at the following times:

Location Local Time Time Zone
Melbourne (Australia) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 06:00:00 AEST
Stockholm (Sweden) Monday 02 October 2017, 22:00:00 CEST
London (UK) Monday  02 October 2017, 21:00:00 BST
Salvador (Brazil – Bahia) Monday  02 October 2017, 17:00:00 BRT
New York (USA) Monday  02 October 2017, 16:00:00 EDT
Mexico City (Mexico) Monday 02 October 2017, 15:00:00 CDT
Los Angeles (USA) Monday 02 October 2017, 13:00:00 PDT

 

The Education webinar on October 3rd will be held at the following times:

Location Local Time Time Zone
Bangkok (Thailand) Wednesday 04 October 2017, 00:00:00 ICT
Amsterdam (Netherlands) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 19:00:00 CEST
London (United Kingdom) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 18:00:00 BST
Salvador (Brazil – Bahia) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 14:00:00 BRT
New York (USA) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 13:00:00 EDT
Mexico City (Mexico) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 12:00:00 CDT
Los Angeles (USA) Tuesday 03 October 2017, 10:00:00 PDT

 

The remainder of the webinars scheduled for October 4th, 5th and 6th will all be held at:

Location Local Time Time Zone
Stockholm (Sweden) 16:00:00 (4th, 5th, 6th, October) CEST
Salvador (Brazil – Bahia) 11:00:00 (4th, 5th, 6th, October) BRT
New York (USA – New York) 10:00:00 (4th, 5th, 6th, October) EDT
Sydney (Australia – New South Wales) 01:00:00 (5th, 6th, 7th October) AEDT
Bangkok (Thailand) 21:00:00 (4th, 5th, 6th, October) ICT
Los Angeles (USA – California) 07:00:00 (4th, 5th, 6th, October) PDT
Mexico City (Mexico – Ciudad de México) 09:00:00 (4th, 5th, 6th, October) CDT

 

If you’d like to participate in one or more of the interactive discussions, please send us your name and email address, identifying which themes you want to join as soon as you can. During the last week of September we will send you the sets of proposed indicators for each dimension, rationale for their inclusion, as well as login details, and simultaneous translation to French and Spanish details.

The criteria for review of the indicators include: the indicator needs to be able to meaningfully work across a wide range of countries and cultures; it needs to be inclusive of (or able to be disaggregated into) sexual orientation, gender identity and expression and sex characteristics (SOGIESC); and is likely to be something that those collecting data including civil society, academics, and statistical divisions of government agencies can adopt.

We would specifically ask participants to engage in-depth regarding:

1) focus on data collection issues and related concerns;
2) identify evident gaps as the indicators apply to SOGIESC concerns and sub groups of LGBTI people, and
3) provide technical inputs on the actual construction of a given indicator.

We are aware that the timeline for this consultation is quite short, and that timezones and people’s schedules may preclude participation in the Webinars. As such, it is possible to write focused comments on the proposed indicators. We will supply a template for written submission, on request (to indicators@rfsl.se), and include such content in the outcome document that ILGA, Outright and RFSL will provide to UNDP and World Bank following this consultation process.


Instructions for using simultaneous translation on the UNDP-led LGBTI Inclusion Index Webinar on 19 September 2017

  • lease use the Google Chrome browser to log into the two platforms below. You can download Google Chrome at https://www.google.com/chrome/. All attendees log into the web conference via GoToMeeting: https://global.gotomeeting.com/join/179484429 
  • All attendees are able to see, hear and type in chat box through GoToMeeting. Only English will be spoken and heard through GoToMeeting. This means all non-English speaking attendees should keep their audio button muted at all times on GoToMeeting (unless they want to listen to two audio streams at the same time in separate languages).
  • All attendees open a separate Google Chrome tab (a separate webpage for a different website). The website link is https://interprefy.interpret.world/user/sign-in . A special access token is provided so that everyone can log in. The Access Token for this event is: inclusion01.
  • Everyone listens to their language of choice on the Interprefy website (provided above). A drop down menu allows all participants to select English, French or Spanish as their language.
  • Only the designated speakers/presenters should use GoToMeeting to speak in English. Everyone else including English, Spanish or French speaking attendees can write questions or make comments in the chat box in GoToMeeting. For example if a Spanish question or comment appears in Chat box, then the Spanish interpreter will see it and interpret it into English. Everyone will be able to listen to the interpretation on the Interprefy website.