ILGA » » Nominees For Gay And Lesbian Awards Of Kenya Announced


Filter by Show me news ›

Nominees For Gay And Lesbian Awards Of Kenya Announced

The Nominees for the first ever Gay and Lesbian Awards of Kenya (KeGALA) have been announced by the National Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission

Avatar of Alessia Valenza

13th December 2012 09:05

Alessia Valenza

The Gay and Lesbian Awards is an annual event organized by the National Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (NGLHRC).

The nominees were picked from applications received during the nomination period that ended on December 1st by the Award Commiitee.

According to Eric Gitari from the NGLHRC, the nominees ‘represent the diverse contributions and efforts currently in place to ensure LGBTIQ persons are recognized, respected and accorded their full menu of human rights.’

The awards aims to appreciate the contributions that LGBTIQ individuals, groups and allies have made to Kenyan society.

They also honor politicians, journalists, employers business leaders, journalists and religious leaders who are committed to advancing equality and social acceptance for LGBTIQ individuals in Kenya.

The full list of the nominees is below:


SHUJAA – Lifetime Achievement Award for ‘impeccable track record of service to LGBTI human rights’

  • David Kuria Mbote
  • Lady Justice Monica Mbaru
  • Pouline Kimanni
  • Nguru Karugu
  • Kate Kamunde Kathambi

AFYA – LGBTI Health Provider Award for ‘demonstrable impact on LGBTI health, mental health, well-being, MSM, HIV and AIDS through quantity and quality of work’

  • KIPE-Kenya (Kisumu)
  • LVCT (Nairobi)
  • ISHTAR-MSM (Nairobi)
  • HOYMAS (Nairobi)
  • NOPE (Kenya)

UTUMISHI – LGBTI Community Organization Achievement Award for ‘service for and development of contemporary and creative measures for effective exercise of LGBTI persons’

  • Gay and Lesbian Coalition of Kenya (GALCK) – Nairobi
  • NYAWEK Coalition – Kisumu
  • Upper Rift Minorities (URM)
  • Out In Kenya – Nairobi
  • PEMA- Kenya

SAUTI – Journalist Of The Year Award for ‘substantial, balanced reporting on LGBTI human rights issues in mainstream media’

  • Anne Soi-Mwendia ‘Muffled Killers’- KTN
  • Monica Mwangi – The Star
  • Stella Kasina ‘The Invisible Bridge’- K24
  • Joy Wanja –NTV
  • Patrick Rukwaro- Internews In Kenya

DINI – Religion/Faith Award for ‘promotion of dialogue on faith, gender, sex, sexuality and Scripture/religious teachings’

  • Other Sheep Kenya
  • St Sebastian –KIPE Kisumu
  • Mavuno Church
  • Other Sheep Africa
  • Gay Kenya Trust’s Muslim Brothers and Sisters

MSAIDIZI – Civil Society/Corporate Ally Award for ‘Consistent, and in the long term, demonstrated dedication and commitment to the LGBTI human rights agenda’

  • Kenya Human Right Commission (KHRC)
  • Release Political Prisoners Trust (RPPT)
  • International Commission of Jurists (ICJ-Kenya)
  • Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (KNCHR)
  • KELIN-Kenya

‘SIMON MAMICHA’ AWARD for ‘greatest contribution in the fight against HIV among LGBTIQ individuals in Kenya’

  • John Mathenge – HOYMAS
  • Mombo ‘Mantully’ Ngua – Independent Activist
  • Mutisya Leonard – KIPE Kenya
  • Lorna Dias – LVCT Kenya
  • Dr Nicholas Muraguri

TUKIO – Event of the Year Award for ‘A national LGBTIQ event that most significantly mobilizes LGBTIQ individuals to celebrate our culture, diversity and freedom, openly and strongly’

  • IDAHO 2012 – GALCK
  • Jinsiangu IT-GNC Day of Remembrance
  • Gay Kenya Trust Books Launch
  • OUT Film Festival 2012 – Goethe Institute
  • Changing Faces, Changing Spaces – UHAI-EASHRI

MWAJIRI – Employer of the Year Award for ‘employers that have been non-discriminating in hiring LGBTIQ individuals, and are creating an affirming and supportive work environment and promoting sexual diversity and LGBTIQ culture in the workforce’

  • Duke of Breeze Hotel, Kisumu
  • HIAS Trust in Kenya, Nairobi
  • Google Kenya
  • Coca-Cola East and Central Africa
  • Fahamu Africa

BIASHARA – Business Leader of the Year Award for ‘businesses and business persons whose businesses have been most supportive of LGBTIQ individuals and groups as clients, staff and partners’

  • Klad House
  • Risha PR and Event Management
  • Rainbow Crafts – Out In Kenya
  • Handiwork – Mary Muthui/Jane Wothaya
  • Resolution Health

NGUZO – Pillar of Support Award for ‘financial investments and technical support has made the most significant contribution to the health, rights and wellbeing of LGBTIQ individuals in Kenya’

  • National AIDS and STI Control Progrma (NASCOP)
  • HIVOS-Kenya
  • Open Society Initiative for Eastern Africa (OSIEA)
  • FORD Foundation

MWONGOZI – Politician/Public Servant Award for ‘political leaders/ politicians who have contributed significantly to promotion of equality and nondiscrimination of LGBTIQ individuals, including challenging negative cultural attitudes, protecting LGBTIQ individuals from maltreatment and/or initiating campaigns to fight homo/transphobia’

  • Mutula Kilonzo, MP, Minister
  • Kingwa Kamencu, Aspirant
  • Esther Murugi, MP, Minister
  • Willy Mutunga, Chief Justice
  • Makau Mutua, KHRC Chairman

The awards ceremony will be held at Charterhall on Saturday, December 15th 2012 from 6-9pm.

The event is supported by the Kenya Human Rights Commission (KHRC) and Identity Kenya which is the official media sponsor.

For regular updates and other details, check out #KeGALA on Twitter.