Home, Asia, Europe, North America, Latin America and Caribbean, Oceania, News, Sitemap
Home / Articles (WORLD) / About ILGA - The only worldwide federation campaigning for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex rights. Since 1978.
loading map..


ILGA Stephen Barris, ILGA
anonymous contributorWritten anonymously. (French)
anonymous contributorWritten anonymously. (Spanish)
ILGA Stephen Barris, ILGA(Portuguese)


Conference participants gather for the traditional group picture during ILGA world conference in Vienna, 2009.
About ILGA - The only worldwide federation campaigning for lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex rights. Since 1978.

in WORLD, 16/12/2009

ILGA’s aim is to work for the equality of lesbian, gay, bisexual, trans and intersex people and their liberation from all forms of discrimination. We seek to achieve this aim through the world-wide cooperation and mutual support of our members.

Join ILGA today! Have your organisation apply to become a member!

Read more

ILGA Secretariat is located in Geneva, Switzerland:

5th Floor
Rue Rothschild 20 
1202 Geneva
We focus public and government attention on cases of discrimination against LGBTI people by supporting programs and protest actions, asserting diplomatic pressure, providing information and working with international organisations and the international media.

ILGA’s success lies in the achievements and progress of 1044 member organisations from 117 countries, working together. Any organisation, business or individual interested in working for equal rights for LGBTI persons may apply to become a member of ILGA. Every one or two years, members of ILGA gather in a world conference to give guidance to its work. ILGA's work is determined by the rules set forth in its Constitution and Standing Orders.

Conference & Board

The ILGA World Conference is the highest decision-making body of ILGA regarding legislation, approval of new members and internal and external organisation. Each member organisation expresses its opinions and concerns and has the right to vote on conference matters.

The ILGA Board comprises 16 members: two Co-secretaries General, a Women's Secretariat, a Trans secretariat, and two representatives (at least one of whom identifies as a woman) from each of the six ILGA regions. The current Board of ILGA has been elected through a combination of elections held either at the last ILGA World Conference in Stockholm, Sweden in December 2012 or at ILGA regional conferences.

Gloria Careaga (Mexico) and Azusa Yamashita (Japan) are the Co-Secretaries General of ILGA.
Beto de Jesus (Brazil) is their alternate.
Elected at the ILGA World Conference in Stockholm, Sweden in December 2012

Minority Women in Action (Kenya) is the Women’s Secretariat. United and Strong (St Lucia) is its alternate.
Elected at the ILGA World Conference in Stockholm, Sweden in December 2012

Diverlex (Venezuela) is the Trans Secretariat. Transgender Netwerk Nederland - TNN (The Netherlands) is its alternate.
Elected at the ILGA World Conference in Stockholm, Sweden in December 2012

* ILGA-Asia: Kaona Saowakun “Toh” (Thailand) and Dan-Dan ”Dana” Zhang (China/HK). Toen King Oey (Indonesia) and Poedijati Tan (Indonesia) are their alternates.
Elected at the ILGA Asia Conference in Bangkok (Thailand) in March 2013
The region is based on the Asia group at the UN (without Pacific Islands and Cyprus and including Israel): Afghanistan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, China, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Iraq, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Oman, Palestine, Pakistan, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Turkmenistan, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Viet Nam and Yemen.

* ILGA-Europe: Maria Sjödin (Sweden) and Martin K.I. Christensen (Denmark).
Alternate member: Konstantina Kosmidou (Greece)
Elected at the ILGA-Europe Conference in Dublin, Ireland in October 2012.
The region is based on the Council of Europe, including candidate Belarus: Albania, Andorra, Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus,Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo (under UNSCR 1244/99), Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, FYR Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine and United Kingdom.

* ILGA - LAC - Latin America and the Caribbean: Josefina Valencia Toledano (Mexicol) and Beto de Jesus (Brasil). Sandra Alvarez Monsalve (Ecuador) and Natasha Jimenez (Costa Rica) are their alternates.
Elected at the ILGA LAC Conference in Cuba in May 2014.
The region is based on the GRULAC group at the UN: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela.

* ILGA-North America: Haven Herrin (United States of America) and Stephen Seaborn (Canada). Michael petty (United States of America) and Helen Kennedy (Canada) are their alternates.
Elected at the ILGA World Conference in Stockholm, Sweden in December 2012
The region comprises Canada and the United States of America

* ILGA-Oceania : Corey Irlam (Australia) and Ymania Brown-Gabriel (Samoa). Anna Brown (Australia) and Morgan Carpenter (Australia) are their alternates.
Elected by the ILGA Oceania Board after elections at the ILGA Oceania Conference in Darwin, Australia in May 2014
The region is based on the South Pacific Forum: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Nauru, New Zealand/Aotearoa, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

* Pan Africa ILGA: Monica Tabengwa (Botswana) and Yahia Zaidi (Algeria). Richard Lusimbo (Uganda) and Akudo Oguaghamba (Nigeria) are their alternates.
Elected at the Pan Africa ILGA Conference in Nairobi, Kenya in March 2014
The region is based on the Africa Group in the UN: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.


Renato Sabbadini, Executive Director. Click here to email Renato
André du Plessis, UN Programme and Advocacy Manager. Click here to email André
Espérance Kana, Finance and Administration Officer. Click here to email Esperance
Alessia Valenza, Membership and Communication Officer. Click here to email Alessia



Bookmark and Share